Tags

, , , , , , ,

Strontium, Iodide, Calcium, Magnesium, pH, Ammonia, Nitrate, Buffer, Conditioner, Sodium.

Some of you are having haunting flashbacks to high school chemistry, but these elements and additives are just the very basics in controlling the balance in a saltwater aquarium. I won’t go into what these elements do, because this isn’t a blog to teach you about reef keeping. I want to talk about control.

As I lay in bed about to fall asleep, I am watching my red fromia sea star cling to the glass in front of me. My corals swaying with the water current. I must confess I watch my tank obsessively.
The amount of control I have in this tank is unlimited. I control the water temp, the salinity, how often the water is changed, when the sun rises and sets (lights). When food arrives, and so on… I have created an ocean in my bedroom and as far as these little critters are concerned, their world.

God is, on a much larger scale, like this aquarium is to me. He has complete control in my world. Sure the fish can say “I chose to eat that piece of food and not that one.” Just as I can say, “I chose to eat at Jersey Mikes instead of In-N-Out.” They chose to swim to the rock, just as I chose to go to class today. The result is the same. God controls my environment. He turns the lights on and off each day. He feeds me regularly. You get the point.

By far my favorite book in the bible is Matthew, which also happens to be my favorite brothers name! A powerful bible lesson comes from Matthew chapter six. It starts on verse 25. You can read the whole story, but I will just share some of my favorite verses from this passage.

26. Look at the birds of the air, that they do not sow, nor reap, nor gather into barns, and yet your heavenly Father feeds them. Are you not worth much more than they?
31. Do not worry then, saying, ‘What will we eat?’ or ‘What will we drink?’ or ‘What will we wear for clothing?’
33.But seek first His kingdom and His righteousness, and all these things will be added to you.
34. “So do not worry about tomorrow; for tomorrow will care for itself. Each day has enough trouble of its own. (NASB).

Do not be worried about what might happen in the future. God has control and he will provide. Isn’t verse 34 so honest and almost poetic? I find myself worrying about the future all the time. This relates back to “The Death of Planning,” blog I wrote earlier. We are here for a select number of days. Don’t waste a single day worrying about tomorrow while you could be in action today.

I have something I just thought of; a little something funny to add to this story. My fish do not worry about when I will add their food again. (although they probably do have some cause for concern), but my dog is very frantic at 5:00:01pm about when is it feeding time or “food o’ clock” as I like to tease her (God doesn’t tease us. Bad example). There is a great point here though. Regardless if the dog or the fish worry about their condition, I love them equally and feed them properly. God is the same way. He knows your needs and will care for you properly whether you are begging for them or not. In all thing, seek God first and glorify him. Tell him your desires, but don’t forget we are here to serve, not to be served.

Until next time
Fork Em’

